The High Sheriff 2020 – 2021, Susan Lousada DL

Susan was born and educated in Bedfordshire and has lived all but four years of her life in the county. She is married to Simon, has two children and two grandchildren and enjoys local history, gardening, skiing, walking and spinning classes at her local gym.

Susan has a BSc (Hons) in Biochemistry and Microbiology from Leeds University and a PGC in Translational Medicine from Cranfield University. She has over 20 years’ experience of running a family business prior to its sale in 2007.

She is currently taking a sabbatical from sitting as a non-legal member in the First Tier Tax Tribunal and has recently stepped down from serving on a Research Ethics Committee based in Oxford where she has held both the Chair and Vice-Chair positions.

Susan is privileged to serve as Deputy Lieutenant for Bedfordshire and support the Lord-Lieutenant in carrying out her functions as Her Majesty, The Queen’s representative in the county. She is a school governor with responsibility for safeguarding and is Chair of the Curriculum Committee and has mentored pupils in a Bedfordshire upper school for many years. She is Chairman of Bedfordshire NSPCC, a member of the County Priory Group (St John’s Ambulance), a member of the charity Schoolreaders Senior Management Team and serves on the Bedfordshire Committee of the East Anglian Air Ambulance.

Susan is very honoured to be nominated as High Sheriff of Bedfordshire this year.

The High Sheriff of Bedfordshire for 2019-2020 Meryl Dolling

During 2019 to 2020 the High Sheriff of Bedfordshire was Meryl Dolling.

“To have been nominated as High Sheriff for 2019-2020 was a tremendous honour. I feel particularly privileged to be the first woman from Luton to serve the county in this role and proud to be only the ninth woman High Sheriff of Bedfordshire in over a thousand years.”

Winners of High Sheriff Citizenship Awards 2020

Young Person Winners

Luca Lionetti – Bedford and North Bedfordshire
Daisy Kelly – Central Bedfordshire
Omar Rafiq – Luton and South Bedfordshire

Adult Winners

Tarsim-Lal Kalyan – Bedford and North Bedfordshire
Sub Lt Jake Blackstaffe – Central Bedfordshire
Judith Chapman – Luton and South Bedfordshire

Group Winners

Bedford Bandhan – Bedford & North Bedfordshire
Houghton Regis Youth Council – Central Bedfordshire
Community Interest Luton – Luton and South Bedfordshire


The High Sheriff of Bedfordshire for 2018-2019 Julian Polhil

Julian and his family live and farm near Bedford and have a long family history in Renhold In his earlier career Julian worked as a journalist and then in communications in the City of London. In Bedfordshire Julian has been involved in a range of countryside and conservation organisations.

Winners for 2018-2019

Young person Winners

North Bedfordshire - Mohammed Ibrahim Iqbal
Central Bedfordshire - Sammi Hull
South Bedfordshire - Abdus Salaam

Adult Winners

North Bedfordshire - Marie-Ange Comerford-Raillon
Central Bedfordshire - Beverley Chidley
South Bedfordshire - Joseph Cruise

Group Winners

North Bedfordshire - FACES Family and Children’s Early Help Services
Central Bedfordshire - Kids in Action
South Bedfordshire - Ujala Wellbeing Group

Special Awards

High Sheriff Inspiration Award - Staff Sergeant Ronnie Davis
High Sheriff Long Service Award - Sat Paul
High Sheriff Long Service Award - Rae Levene
High Sheriff Long Service Award - David Milton


The High Sheriff of Bedfordshire for 2017-2018 Vinod Taylor

The High Sheriff, Vinod Tailor, said:

“There are so many people in Bedfordshire and Luton making a huge difference in their communities and to the lives of other people in their local area. The High Sheriff’s Awards are an extremely important part of my role and I look forward to showing my appreciation for the outstanding work of those people as a mark of respect for their hard work improving the day to day lives of those in need in our communities.”

Winner for 2017-2018

Young Persons Winners

North Beds - Kieran White (YMCA Bedfordshire)
Central Beds - Michael Desmond
South Beds - Jack Marshall

Adult Winners

North Beds - Sudesh Rani
Central Beds - Chris Daniels Girlguiding Bedfordshire
South Beds - Jill Hearn Samaritans

Group Winners

North Beds - Yarl’s Wood Befrienders
Central Beds - Don’t Let Dunstable Die
South Beds - Next Generation Youth Theatre

Previous High Sheriff’s

2016/2017 High Sheriff - Charles Whitbread Esq, Bedford
2015/2016 High Sheriff - The Countess of Erroll, Bedford
2014/2015 High Sheriff - C Osborne Esq MBE, Sandy, Bedfordshire
2013/2014 High Sheriff - Mrs Deborah Inskip, Milton Ernest, Bedford
2012/2013 High Sheriff - J Sapsworth Esq MBE, Luton
2011/2012 High Sheriff - A M Slack Esq, Oakley
2010/2011 High Sheriff - D T C Hanbury Esq DL, Turvey
2009/2010 High Sheriff - Mrs C M Gresham, Dunstable
2008/2009 High Sheriff - N Jessa Esq, Luton